Tip

Remember to save the schedule skeleton
Avoid losing any changes you make to your schedule skeleton by saving the skeleton before you run the auto-scheduler. Saving the schedule skeleton allows you to revert back to the skeleton with your manual assignments, in case you need to re-run the auto-scheduler. This can be helpful if you change scheduler or ministry settings, or if multiple schedulers make manual changes before the auto-scheduler is run.
Step by step: Saving a schedule skeleton
  1. From the Schedules pane in MSP, enter the start and end dates for your next schedule, and click the "Create..." button.
  2. A new window will open with your schedule skeleton. Make adjustments to the services and manual assignments before running the auto-scheduler.
  3. Before clicking the Commence Scheduling button, select "Save" from the File menu at the top of the scheduling window. This will save a copy the schedule skeleton as a file to the Schedules pane (or a location on your computer if using a local database).
  4. After running the auto-scheduler and saving it, the complete schedule will save as a separate file. You will now have two files - the schedule skeleton and the schedule, for the same time period. If you don't like the schedule created and need to make changes to ministry or scheduler settings, you can do so and then open the schedule skeleton file to re-run the auto-scheduler with the new settings.